About the PIX

The Pix yearbook is LRCH’s nationally recognized, award-winning yearbook. We publish a 392-page yearbook each school year. Books are released to students in May of each school year, before senior graduation if possible.


Email: roy.vaughn@lrsd.org  or thepixyearbook@yahoo.com                                            Phone: 501-447-1500


Students may pre-order a yearbook during the fall semester, or buy extra copies on a first-come, first-served basis for $60 CASH in the spring when books arrive.

Pre-orders for the 2016-2017 school year cost $45. Book cost goes up for $55 after September 15, 2016. Yearbooks may not be pre-ordered after Christmas. Books may be pre-ordered using cash or check (made payable to LRCH Yearbook) in the LRCH Main Office, or in room 103 from Mr. Vaughn. Yearbooks may be ordered using a debit or credit card HERE.


Each year students who have completed a full academic year of Journalism I may apply to the on the staff of the PIX. Staff is divided between editors, photographers and staff members. Staff members and photographers range from 10-12th grade, and attend classes on either A or B days. Editors are typically seniors and participate in class on both A and B days.


The PIX was inducted into the Arkansas Scholastic Press Association’s Arkansas Yearbook Hall of Fame on April 16, 2010.

The 2015-2016 PIX staff received 11 superior, 5 excellent, 1 honorable mention, and 2 best of ASPA awards at the 2016 Arkansas Scholastic Press Association conference.  Special awards were also given to Sarah Curry won first place for advertisement design and Nadia Whitlock won third place in sports copy writing.  Bennett Martin and Deja Snyder tied for third place Designers of the Year.  Over all the yearbook was awarded Superior Yearbook General Excellence for the 2016 yearbook staff and an All Arkansas designation for the 2015 yearbook– Points of Interest.

The 2014-2015 PIX staff received 13 superior, 2 excellent and 1 honorable mention awards at the 2015 Arkansas Scholastic Press Association conference. Special awards were also given to Hannah Slape for 2nd place in Sports Photography portfolio, Nicole Bavon and Kaitlin Karney got 3rd place Designers of the Year.

The 2013-2014 Pix Staff received 2 honorable mention, 3 excellent, 12 superior, 4 best of show, a superior general excellence award and an All-Arkansas recognition at the 2014 Arkansas Scholastic Press Association awards. Staff member Maryam Mumtaz was named Designer of the Year for the state of Arkansas. In addition Principal Nancy Rousseau was award Administrator of the Year by the Arkansas Scholastic Press Association.  The PIX was also awarded a Gold Medal (Sam Herndon) and a Silver Crown award by the Columbia Press Association. The photo on page 191 won the NSPA Environmental Portrait of the Year award. The book was featured in Balfour’s Yearbook Yearbook and was distributed nationally at conferences and workshops.

The 2011-2012, the 2012-2013,  2013-2014, 2015-2016, and the 2016-2017 editions of the PIX were selected for national distribution by Balfour Publishing Co.

The 2010-2011 and 2014-2014 editions of the PIX received a Silver Crowns  from the Columbia Press Association.




2 thoughts on “About the PIX

    1. pixyearbook Post author

      We have been a diverse school for many years. Thank you so much for your comment, I will share your response with our building principal she will be delighted in your noticing our strides toward racial equality.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s